Protecting house from US creditors

sosua10

Jan 17, 2010
I am a US resident and own a house in the DR through a Dominican corporation. The house is the corporation's only asset. I have a Dominican wife who lives in the house, but at present I am the sole owner of the corporation.

Is there any way for me to protect this asset from US creditors in the event of a bankruptcy or judgement against me? Just curious.

thanks.

RonS

Bronze
Oct 18, 2004
The corporation is a legal entity, separate from you, the individual, and 'shields' the assets from your individual creditors unless the corporation is itself a co-debtor or co-signator. Your personal liabilities are not the liabilities of the corporation. The shares of the corporation that you own, however, are your assets and, like your other assets, are subject to lien or liquidation in a Chapter 7 Bankruptcy, and thier value included as part of your estate.

sosua10

Jan 17, 2010
The corporation is a legal entity, separate from you, the individual, and 'shields' the assets from your individual creditors unless the corporation is itself a co-debtor or co-signator. Your personal liabilities are not the liabilities of the corporation. The shares of the corporation that you own, however, are your assets and, like your other assets, are subject to lien or liquidation in a Chapter 7 Bankruptcy, and thier value included as part of your estate.

Understood. Is there a way to secure the house since it is the principal residence of my spouse?

RonS

Bronze
Oct 18, 2004