Moving to the DR- but what can I do to generate income??

amstellite

Bronze
Sep 5, 2007
I have a dream...many think I am crazy but I think I know what I want but am unsure how to get it. MY goal is a life in the DR... not necessarily in the poshest part of Santo Domingo, but a modest place in the outskirts. I have been visiting La caleta for the past 5 years and am very close with a family there. I often help them out. I feel they are on my side and will not betray me. I am 50 years old, and the idea of working in the USA for another 12 years before I can start claiming my pension and full 401 K is daunting.. I want to leave now. I am by no stretch of the imaginiation rich- but have a fair amount right now in 401k plans and I have some savings. The money is going down the drain in NY . I rent, and am single. I have stayed in la caleta and find the people spectacular- very very poor, some richer than others ,but no one is rolling in it, the place is dusty and basic, the lights go out 2 or 3 times a day, and services are definitely not what you would expect here in the USA...but nonethe less I yearn to go back every time I leave to come back home. Right now I am dying inside and can't wait for the weeks to pass quickly till Feb 26 when I return. I feel I am leaving home whenever I leave La Caleta... mainly because the family is close to me now and the kids all know and hug me.Last time I left 10 days ago, there were tears all around.I pay most of the rent on the family's house- 45 bucks a month, and my friend Juan pays the difference of 20 per month. He can;t pay any more- he works as a motoconcho and supports 5 kids and a wife.