Greetings, my name is Evelyn and I’m here to help you (POP)

POP DGA

Nov 4, 2020
sosua
The new President has appointed me as the new manager of the airport customs area (DGA) here in Puerto Plata (POP). Our new goal is to make the airport more user friendly, tourists orientated and a pleasure to use.

My background is college in the USA and for the last 22 years administration villa management of SeaHorse Ranch here the the Sosua-Cabarete area. Many of you already know me.

Hopefully we can all work together to accomplish these goals at the airport.

First, I welcome all arriving passengers to ask for me personally (to know me or help with problems), second if anyone has ….

1.) ideas to improve the airport customs
2.) report here any problems (be it operational, rudeness, or improper behavior)
3.) general comments to help me (us) and improve tourism to the North Coast.

You can write here. I’m aware of the past problems and the biggest complaint (expensive airport fares) and although above my pay grade, I have the ear of the new president. Let’s see.

Thank you for your time and looking forward to hearing (meeting) you. You now have a friend at the airport customs.

Evelyn Barrientos

Cdn_Gringo

Gold
Apr 29, 2014
A suggestion - Put up a sign in English advertising your name, position and availability where arriving/departing passengers can see it. When there are problems, many uni-lingual passengers have a difficult time thinking on the fly and knowing that assistance is available in their language would be a big help in that situation. The customs officials should be instructed to contact you as a matter of course when there is an issue with a passenger. Congrats on the new job. I hope you find it rewarding and can make a difference.

william webster

Platinum
Jan 16, 2009
Evelyn
This is a good idea
I wish you well

Myrecent arrival was October 31
The line for citizens and residents was not open
Just one for all passengers
How long will this continue?