The Beginning of The End of Carros Públicos (Conchos)?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
A new massive transportation system has been announced with the intention of eliminating carros públicos (conchos) forever, and improving the quality and safety of public transport users. Often most of the old beat up carcasses roaming the streets of Santo Domingo are conchos. The new system is slated to start soon on Avenida Núñez de Cáceres in Santo Domingo, eventually expanding everywhere carros públicos currently have routes. Drivers of conchos are going to be employed in the new system and will become the drivers of the buses. OMSA will also be prohibited on every concho route replaced by this new system.

The video is in Spanish.

The new buses that will form part of the new system meant to replace conchos.

f26Fob.png

Reactions: AlaPlaya

Garyexpat

Bronze
Sep 7, 2012
I'll believe it when I see it NAL's. The sindico that heads up the Conchos is very strong and I've heard talk about taking the conchos off the roads in the past. Don't get me wrong I would LOVE to see it happen. I thought that when the Metro (line one) was finished the concho drivers should have been offered jobs and conchos taken off the roads at that time (meaning where the metro ran like Maximo Gomez which to me is the worst traffic on that side of the river but they allowed the conchos to clog up Gomez until this day.
Frankly the thoughts of those concho drivers being the drivers of large busses is frightening to say the least. Will they still pull in and out of traffic without looking? My guess is the adage that "old habits die hard" will be the case.

NanSanPedro

Nickel with tin plating
Apr 12, 2019
Boca Chica
yeshaiticanprogram.com