Back Migration to The DR

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Univisión New York has a story they published yesterday (12/8/23) in their Youtube channel about Dominicans that are abandoning New York and returning to the DR (this include those that can't afford an one way airplane ticket back to the DR, they go to the Dominican consulate and ask for a "carta de ruta" which not only the Dominican government pay for their one way ticket to the DR, but also allows them to enter the DR without a passport.) In the title they quote one of the Dominicans: "NY isn't what I thought."

They start with a Dominican and say "he can't stand NY anymore." He first went to the USA in 2021.

Another Dominican has lived for 16 years in New Jersey and she too had enough, leaving for the DR via a carta de ruta.

PS1. The video is in Spanish.

PS2. Use a VPN of the USA if can't see the video.

PS3. How many Dominicans that you know that want to go to NY actually give you a correct depiction of what awaits them in the USA?

cavok

Silver
Jun 16, 2014
Cabarete
It says "Video unavailable". I would need to know the title of the video to try to search for it on YouTube.

Sol09

Jan 12, 2017
Regarding PS3 none! They want to be seen as successful so they do not share with their fellow Dominicans how difficult it really is which is why there exists this fantasy that Nueva York is lined with money trees. (10,000 times more difficult without the proper work authorization)

Reactions: chicagoan14

Lucifer

Silver
Jun 26, 2012
I watched this on TikTok yesterday.

Most of the comments were cruel, especially from those who claimed that the returnees are weak and/or lazy.

I must be the weakest/laziest of them all: returning for good in August, '24.

Reactions: qphotonyc

Lucifer

Silver
Jun 26, 2012