Largest Japanese Investment in the DR

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
The following article published today in the Listin Diario is about an announcement made by the Dominican ambassador to Japan (guy in the photo and I think he has some Japanese ancestry) that today Feb 20 atvthe National Palace eill be revealed to the public. He says it will be the largest investment Japan has ever made in the DR and it will be from a Japanese vehicle company. He didn’t specify what company it will be or what exactly the new investment is about.

JEbR9vs.png

The decision to invest in the DR didn’t came out of thin air. The Dominican embassy has been in negotiation to bring major Japanese investments to the DR at least since 3 years ago and a deal was struck this past January. One of the goals given to the current ambassador by the Ministry of Foreign Relations was to bring to the DR a major investment from a Japanese company.

What could this major investment be?

JD Jones

Moderator:North Coast,Santo Domingo,SW Coast,Covid
Jan 7, 2016
As the article stated: "It will be from a Japanese vehicle company" and "Tesla Japonesa con inversiones en 78 paises"

I bet PlayaCaribe could hazard a guess.

Reactions: CristoRey

aarhus

Long live King Frederik X
Jun 10, 2008
Found it.

Auto parts.

The Japanese company Yazaki Corporation will invest 90 million dollars in an automobile parts manufacturing plant that will employ 1,500 people in Santiago de los Caballeros.

GG0EY_bWkAAI4G1
Thats impressive

aarhus

Jun 10, 2008
I've had a few of those thoughts going through my mind as well.

Then again, I had lots of sharp employees when I worked in Santiago.
But it’s also a completely new industry for the DR. As far as I know.

JD Jones

Jan 7, 2016
But it’s also a completely new industry for the DR. As far as I know.
Production is production. Engineers dissect the production steps to the umpth degree so any person can be trained to do it.

Reactions: NanSanPedro

aarhus

Jun 10, 2008