Las Américas International Airport New Terminal

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
For the first time, the renders of what the new terminal will look like is shown. Nice!

JIEEI1a.jpg

JIEEzqg.jpg

JIEEoLF.jpg

JIEETrJ.jpg

JIEEAdv.jpg

aarhus

Long live King Frederik X
Jun 10, 2008
That is great if Las Americas gets an upgrade. But it did recently didn’t it ? Last time I was there in August I hadn't been since end of 2020 and there were many changes at departure.

M4kintosh

May 23, 2023
Santiago De Los Caballeros

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
That is great if Las Americas gets an upgrade. But it did recently didn’t it ? Last time I was there in August I hadn't been since end of 2020 and there were many changes at departure.
The problem with the Las Américas terminal is that it's old. They need to built the new terminal which will be up-to-date and then close the current terminal and subjected it to an intense mintenance where at the end they practically open another new terminal with everything new.

If the DR was a rich country, it makes sense to built a new terminal the size of the current one times two. Once built, knock the old one build a new modern one in its position that could handle twice as many passengers as now. But the DR isn't rich, so make do with a new terminal and "refurbishing" the current one. Once Arajet is in full force, Las Américas will be very crowded if it remains as big as it's now.

Riva_31

Bronze
Apr 1, 2013
San Pedro de Macoris