New Condo/Apartment Building

MiamiDRGuy

Bronze
May 19, 2013
Found this on the internet forum so I want to share a nice new building that just finished construction. Anyone know about this one?

zsX4GTb.jpg

• Wow
Reactions: JD Jones and aarhus

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
It looks nice but with unreliable electricity and earthquakes, it would be a non-starter for me.
These buildings normally are built to sustain earthquakes (although even the lightest earthquake is amplified the further up you go in these towers). In addition, the more luxurious ones have a collective back up generator for the entire building (others only for areas of common use such as lobby, elevators, etc) and they don't have an electricity issue. Many now have communal gas for the entire building making it unnecessary to buy gas tanks for stoves in each apartment. The stove is simply connected to the building's gas distribution infrastructure and the building's management takes care of buying the necessary gas and having the gas trucks fill the communal tank. Same with water (though you still need to equipe a water purification system if you want the faucet water to be drinkable or buy those jugs of water and placed separately in the kitchen), so basically every time you open a faucet water comes out. Many newer buildings also include a water heater for each apartment that usually is manually turn on or off whenever you're taking a shower or, like many people, simply leave it on. The switch is in one of the closets or pantry. Living in many of these buildings is actually very comfortable, you almost (key word) forget the DR is a developing country.

Last edited:
Reactions: cavok

aarhus

Long live King Frederik X
Jun 10, 2008
It looks nice but with unreliable electricity and earthquakes, it would be a non-starter for me.
I agree. I actually think their architecture is quite creative. But for the reasons you mention I would also be sceptical.

NanSanPedro

Nickel with tin plating