Oil in Jimaní? What Could This Mean for Haiti?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Supposedly, this Tweet from today (June 4, 2023) is of what was discovered near Jimaní, which is the Dominican town right on the border with Haiti that connects to Port-au-Prince. There is the hypothesis that Hispaniola in general and Haiti specifically could be sitting on one of the Western Hemisphere's largest oil reserve, particularly in that area of the Enriquillo/Cul-de-Sac Basin. This reserve hasn't been discovered yet and it's unclear if the Haitian government allows for oil exploration. If this truly happened in Jimaní, it would be the closest oil discovery to the Haitian border, which could mean that there could be more oil in Haiti itself. The discovery of large quatities of oil there could greatly impact positively the Haitian economy, perhaps take it out of the category of the poorest country in the Western Hemisphere.

Oil had been discovered before in other areas of the DR, the most well known is in Azua; but it has never been in large quatities for commercial exploitation. So at least in the Dominican side there is oil, the question is if a reserve big enough for commercial exploitation exist and hasn't been discovered yet. Its not clear if any type of oil has been discovered in Haiti, but given how close this is to the Haitian border there could be oil in Haiti too.

Reactions: NanSanPedro

PJT

Silver
Jan 8, 2002