Senate passes state of emergency for 12 provinces


Staff member
Feb 20, 2019

The Senate passed the bill for creating a state of emergency for a duration of 45 days in 12 provinces to mitigate damages caused by Hurricane Fiona. The bill already passed in the Chamber of Deputies. The state of emergency facilitates government contracting.

The initiative was fully and unanimously approved by the 27 senators present for the session on 28 September 2022.

The provinces that will fall under the state of emergency are: La Altagracia, La Romana, San Pedro de Macorís, Santo Domingo, El Seibo, Hato Mayor, Monte Plata, Duarte, La Vega, Santiago, Samaná and María Trinidad Sánchez.

The legislators also approved a resolution to form a bicameral commission to follow up on the actions and measures taken during the state of emergency.

Read more in Spanish:El Caribe


Continue reading...
Last edited by a moderator: