The new senators for the Dominican Republic


Staff member
Feb 20, 2019

Parties that are in the opposition today will become the majority in the Senate come 16 August 2020, ousting the deciding power of the ruling Dominican Liberation Party (PLD) over the past 16 years. The Modern Revolutionary Party (PRM) candidates won the majority in the Senate with 18 seats to the six of the PLD, and five of the People’s Force (FP) of former President Leonel Fernández. The Social Christian Reformist Party (PRSC) obtained two seats and two minority parties, Dominicans for Change (DxC) and Social Democrat Institutional Bloc (BIS), gained one seat each.

For the 2020-2024 election, the PRM had reached alliances with the FP, PRSC, DxC and BIS, and it is expected there will be collaboration among these senators in the new Congress to pass important reforms, including that of the Constitution.

The Central Electoral Board has announced the new...
Continue reading...
Last edited by a moderator: