Toronto Dominicanos: Why do all the males like to cook?

Fiesta Mama

Bronze
Jan 28, 2004
My husband is Dominican and has been in Canada now for about 3 1/2 years. When he arrived, he could not cook to save his life. Maybe a fried egg, etc. but he was definitely used to a house of women cooking and doting on him for his every beck and call.

I am a good cook so the cooking issue has never been an issue for us. That's my job of all the house duties and I accept it. I ordered Aunt Clara's cookbook before he arrived to master his favourite dishes and he never complains about my cooking.

I am, however, a little baffled because many people on this site talk about Dominicans and their wives cooking for them and doing everything BUT we have many, many Dominican friends in Toronto (mostly Dominicanos, not Dominicanas since my husband meets tons of guys) and MOST are EXCELLENT cooks. They tell me that their mothers, grandmothers, sisters, aunts, etc. taught them and they love cooking. We have parties all the time where I am the host but do nothing in terms of cooking because my husband's friends want to do it all and love it.

My question is why is it that some Dominicans come from the typical background where the women of the house do the cooking duties and others (as we have seen here), seem to be the cook of the house. Is this just a phenomenan of Dominicans living outside their country and wanting to eat food from home not knowing how or is there a culture of male Dominican cooks in the DR because I have not seen any in all of our time there???

**** Note to moderator: Please change the title to "Toronto Dominicanos: Why do all the males like to cook????

mamielizabeth

Feb 9, 2008