Why was a british traveler not allowed entry into country?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nadie21

Jun 3, 2021
Santa Clarita
Just read of a british traveler denied entry at Punta Cana Airport. Her companion had no problem. They were booked into hotel for I think 10days. She was brought into an office and not told why. Why would this happen?

keepcoming

Moderator - Living & General Stuff
May 25, 2011
Interesting, after reading the article seems maybe a passport issue? Something mentioned about Colombia, but no explanation was given about any previous travel to Colombia.

PJT

Silver
Jan 8, 2002
Maybe there was an identity or data entry mix up. The authorities in the RD are provided passenger information through the airline prior to its origin departure to the DR and also the online tourist card information. At any point near to departure she could have been advised of entry denial. Something went awry.

Regards,

PJT

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Just for the record, the fact someone is British or from Europe or North America doesn't mean that they should be allowed into the DR.

DR Migración: "Señor, follow me".

Señor: "What? I'm British!"

DR Migración: "Mr, don't waste my time and follow me..."

Last edited:
Reactions: irishpaddy

bob saunders

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
dr1.com
Interesting, after reading the article seems maybe a passport issue? Something mentioned about Colombia, but no explanation was given about any previous travel to Colombia.
She has never travelled to Colombia, has no criminal record, and she wasn't told the reason for them flagging her passport.

bob saunders

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
dr1.com
yea, but if they are going
Just for the record, the fact soneone is British or from Europe or North America doesn't mean that just due to that they should be allowed into the DR.

Sure deny entry but do it at the other end before she gets on the aircraft.

FF1

Dec 17, 2022
DR