Wonder if others have had this problem an the result.

bienamor

Kansas redneck an proud of it
Apr 23, 2004
Will be going back to the USA sometime this month for what I hope is a couple of weeks.
Problem is this is an unexpected trip, My passport expires in May meaning I only have 4 months, think I remember that You need 6 to enter the country. I am a legal resident. so don't know if that will make a difference.
Anyone else have this problem before? Getting a fast track renewal will be a hassle as I will not be close to any of the offices

CristoRey

Welcome To Wonderland
Apr 1, 2014
Will be going back to the USA sometime this month for what I hope is a couple of weeks.
Problem is this is an unexpected trip, My passport expires in May meaning I only have 4 months, think I remember that You need 6 to enter the country. I am a legal resident. so don't know if that will make a difference.
Anyone else have this problem before? Getting a fast track renewal will be a hassle as I will not be close to any of the offices
As a legal resident you should be allowed to enter however once in the country it's probably a good idea to renew your passport assuming you are an American passport holder, if not then it may be a good idea to ask someone at the local consulate office prior to leaving.
Alexandra Colombo
US Consulate Office Puerto Plata
colomboa@state.gov

jd426

Gold
Dec 12, 2009
Took me about 3 months to renew my passport ..Longest wait EVER .. Pay the Expedite Fee.. which makes it about 6 weeks .
Or do the Emergency thing if they still offer it . I think that costs like $300 though .

Reactions: kanson

pularvik

Jan 2, 2011
Only case I know of like yours they refused to board him. He thought that since he had an emergency t(sick mother) they would let him through but they didn’t. Maybe it depends on the person who makes the decision at the airport, they are really in a position of power.
Everyone, check your passport dates right now!

SantiagoDR

The "REAL" SantiagoDR