President receives credentials for seven ambassadors

Prosper Higiro from Rwanda presenting credentials / Presidency

President Luis Abinader, accompanied by Vice President Raquel Peña, received the credentials of seven ambassadors on Wednesday, 3 July 2024 at the Presidential Palace.

The ambassadors accredited were Carlos Luís Dantas Coutinho of Brazil; Emriye Bağdagül Ormancı of Turkey; Manuel María Camacho Cansado de Carvalho of Portugal; Gabriele Meon-Tschürtz of Austria; Prosper Higiro of Rwanda; Andrej Gregor Rode of Slovenia; and Manuel Plesa of Romania.

This is the first diplomatic appointment for Ambassador Coutinho of Brazil who previously head the Department of Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Brazil.

Ambassador Ormancı of Turkey previously held positions as Deputy Director General for Cultural Affairs and Deputy Permanent Delegate to UNESCO, and head of the Department of CounterTerrorism and served as counsellor to the Turkey UN mission.

Ambassador Camacho Cansado de Carvalho of Portugal, who also serves as Portugal’s Ambassador to Mexico, has a background as European Union representative.

Ambassador Meon-Tschürtz of Austria is also ambassador to Cuba. She is an Austrian diplomat who has served in various roles, including as the Permanent Representative of Austria to the United Nations Offices and other international organizations in Vienna.

Ambassador Higiro of Rwanda has held ministerial positions in Rwanda. He is also serves as High Commissioner at Rwanda High Commission Canada.

Ambassador Rode of Slovenia is a legal expert with significant contributions to Slovenia’s NATO accession. He serves as Ambassador in Canada and is the non-resident Slovenian ambassador to Cuba & Permanent Representative to ICAO. He has also been Minister of Foreign Affairs of Slovenia.

Ambassador Plesa of Romania has held the position of consular general in Madrid, Spain.

Read more in Spanish:

4 July 2024