2010 Travel News ArchiveTravel

11 Blue Flag beaches

Eleven beaches in the DR have once again received Blue Flag accreditation. An international jury awarded the prestigious recognition to 11 beaches based on compliance with a set of conditions consisting of environmental education activities, mapping, lifesaving equipment, water quality sampling and information boards. The award is granted by the Foundation for Environmental Education and is a guarantee of water quality in beaches where the public has access.

The beaches are: Arena Gorda, La Altagracia (Bahia Principe Bavaro), Arena Gorda, La Altagracia (Iberostar), Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia (Be Live Grand Punta Cana), Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia (Natura Park), Cayacoa, Samana (Bahia Principe Cayacoa), Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata (Be Live Marien), Costa Dorada, Puerto Plata (Iberostar), El Portillo, Samana (Bahia Principe) and La Laguna, Dominicus, Bahia Escondida, Maria Trinidad Sanchez (Bahia Principe San Juan).

Since the Blue Flag program started in 1987, more than 53,000 Blue Flags have been raised in the world. In 2010, the 50,000th Blue Flag was awarded.