Public Health installs chlorine plants

The Ministry of Public Health has announced the installation of 18 chlorine plants in the provinces along the border with Haiti. The aim is to provide potable drinking water for the local population. Luis Emilio Felix Roa, the director of the department of Environmental Health for the Ministry told Hoy newspaper reporters that the 18 plants have received community support. The small plants have a 50-gallon per day capacity to produce chlorine. The provinces with the new chlorine facilities include Elias Pina, Pedernales, Independencia, Barahona, Bahoruco, Montecristi, Dajabon, Peravia and San Juan de la Maguana.