911 Emergency System reaches Barahona

The Presidency inaugurated the start of the 911 Emergency System in the 11 municipalities of southwestern Barahona province on 16 December 2019. Some 582 collaborators and 114 vehicles have been assigned to the service. This includes 24 physicians, 24 nurses and 93 paramedics. 20 new ambulances and 10 motor ambulances are part of the service. The National Police is contributing 175 agents, 19 pickups and 35 motorcyclists.

With the addition of Barahona, the 911 Emergency System now reaches 18 Dominican provinces, including the National District, reaching 8.5 million Dominicans, or more than 80% of the population.

Read more in Spanish:

17 December 2019