Reality show to choose country brand logo

The Country Brand Multi-Sectorial Committee announces that 29 graphic designers and advertising students will participate in the reality show “A Republic Full of Talent” to choose the country’s brand logo. The event will also serve to socialize the country brand strategy. The winning logo would be presented to the nation in a televised program on 17 April 2021. The winning artist will receive RD$3 million, the runner-up will get RD$1 million.

It is unclear whether the logo would accompany the slogan, “Republic of the World” that was chosen for the country slogan and branding during the Medina administration, corroborated under the Abinader administration and announced last year.

The young graphic artists will compete in a seven-episode reality show. “This will give us the opportunity to walk together with our young creatives, their mentors and the entire team of professionals who, with their talent, inspiration, leadership and the perseverance that defines us, will help us in the search and development of the country brand that will proudly represent us,” said Gisele Sangiovanni, general director of the contest.

PriceWaterhouseCoopers (PwC) was hired to guarantee the transparency of the process.

Present for the announcement of the contest at the Jaragua Hotel were contest jurors Lara Guerrero, president of MG Public Relations; Felipe Pagés, president of Pagés BBDO; Eduardo Valcárcel of Newlink Dominicana; Francisco Ramírez, executive VP for personal business and branches of Banco Popular Dominicano and Cándida Hernández, marketing director of Cervecería Nacional Dominicana.

Silvia Molina, consultant and brand identity design specialist; Keith Thomas, owner of Grupo Diseño Republica; Evaristo Angurria, owner of @Angurria; Rafael Miguel owner @Imhueso and partner @Fyeras; Damián Domínguez, creative director of the Communications for the CAASD and Freddy Hanna VP creative of the Ogilvy Agency, are participating as mentors during the process.

The reality show TV episodes will be transmitted every Saturday from 13 March to 17 April and on Thursday, 15 April on Color Visión (Channel 9).

Dominican audiences are asked to vote for the winning logo.

The 29 contestants are:
Santo Domingo: Jorge Arturo Pérez, Saneth Colón, Alejandro Soto, Eva Mancebo, Daniel Alejandro Soto, Osvaldo Sine, Sven Otto Holmbom, Ana Beatriz Valdivieso, Manuel Ramón Lara, Katherine Yuen, Yamel Marian Rodríguez, Antonio de Jesús González, María José Mathiss, Karla Sing Conde, Luis Miguel Abreu, Diana Liz Toribio, Natalie Coste Sierra, Eric Bernardo Alvarez.
South Region: Víctor Geraldo Rosa (Barahona), Julio Alberto Rodríguez (Baní), Julio Pereyra (San Cristóbal)
North Region: Anyelina Peña (Santiago).
East Region: Britney Paola Gómez (Bávaro), Carioli Aquismi Cera (La Romana).
Dominicans living abroad: Rosa Mercedes Rodríguez (Valencia, Spain; Rafael Grullón and Cindy Adames (Barcelona, Spain), Isabella Fernández (Madrid, Spain); Sulamita Javier Balanutsa, New York, USA.

The contest was called after the original logo that was presented to accompany the slogan “The Republic of the World” was rejected after social media went live with remarks that the logo chosen was an adaptation of a logo by a Russian artist. The Medina government contracted the advertising agency Kraneo to coordinate the country brand creation. Kraneo subcontracted a Mexican company, Beker to create the rejected logo.

Read more in Spanish:
Marca Pais

N Digital

4 March 2021