New judges of the Superior Electoral Tribunal are appointed

The National Council of the Magistracy (CNM) chose Ygnacio Pascual Camacho Hidalgo to preside the Superior Electoral Court (TSE). The Superior Electoral Tribunal (TSE) is the highest authority in electoral contentious matters in the Dominican Republic. It is responsible for ruling on disputes related to political parties, groupings and movements.

Camacho Hidalgo is a career judge and professor of law at the UASD and PUCMM. He was serving as judge of the Third Criminal Chamber of the Court of Appeals of the National District at the time of his appointment.

On Wednesday, 28 July 2021, the members of the CNM voted on the five judges and alternates for the court that is designated to rule on presidential, legislative and municipal matters. The new magistrates will be sworn in on Thursday, 29 July at 7pm. They are elected for four-year terms.

The newly chosen judges are:
Ygnacio Pascual Camacho Hidalgo, TSE presiding judge; Juan Alfredo Biaggi Lama; Rosa Fior D’Aliza Perez de Garcia; Pedro Pablo Yermenos Forastieri and Fernando Fernandez Cruz.

The respective alternates are: Juan Bautista Cuevas Medrano, Hermenegilda del Rosario Fondeur Ramírez, Juan Manuel Martín Garrido Campillo, Lourdes Teresa de Jesús Salazar Rodríguez and Francisco Eugenio Cabrera Mata.

President Luis Abinader said that with the election of the new members of the TSE, the institutionalism of the country continues to be strengthened. He said those chosen were non-partisan people.

Read more in Spanish:
Interview with Camacho for the position
DR1 News

29 July 2021