buying a business in the D.R.

M0823MIKE

May 19, 2006
I am currently investigating buying a pharmacy business here. Any information/leads/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
Seems to be very competitive business and location is very important.

i've noticed that a few farmacias do very well and others have few clients. It would be tough to go against one that has built up a loyal client base.

Foreigners should keep in mind that usually the best way to make a million dollars here is to come with 2 million.

M0823MIKE

May 19, 2006
yes, location, location, location... I am a pharmacist and owned ap harmacy for many yeasr in the states. I have been here for about 7 years now and have become fairly familiar with the business model here. So far the hardest thing for me is the lack of dependable (dare I say audited) financial information. My gut tells me that just the presence of an actual pharmacist who has a detailed knowledge of medicine and is fluent in spanish will bring people to my business- I could be wrong too. The other perplexing point is how to evaluate the worth of the business. is it net profit or net sales multiplied by x years or some other formula?

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
FYI: You do not have to have a licensed pharmist on premises (sp?), only to sign off on it!!

Not the easiest ob businesses to get into now that Farmax is a going concern...I woujld steer away unless yhou are in a remote location.

HB,,sho know Jack about pharmacies but does know this place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Adrian Bye

Bronze
Jul 7, 2002
- i'd count the number of people that go into the store per hour for a few different times during the week and extrpolate to determine foot traffic.
- then you might be able to find a friendly person who owns another pharmacy to determine the estimated profit