Canadian in need of visa advice!! (new law problems)

slb1

Jul 1, 2012
Hi,

I am new to this thread and joined hoping to have this very specific question answered!

I have been hired by a company in DR and therefore need to apply for a Residence Visa. However, there is so much confusion with the Embassy in my own country, as well as in the DR, and even with the company I am hired for having a lawyer looking into it, NOONE has been able to figure out the actual procedure and what is required to get this visa! Each embassy/lawyer/government has different information. Has anyone successfully obtained one since the implementation of the new law, and if so, what steps did you go through? I will be coming from Canada. There has been some suggestion that I just come for now on a Tourist visa and work (technically illegally)and they would try to apply for the visa with me already in the country, citing the confusion as the reason why I did not get it before coming over. Any idea what legal implications are if I got caught working without a proper visa? Does ANYONE know the actual confirmed steps to apply for the residence visa under the new law?

Thank you

hammerdown

Bronze
Apr 29, 2005
I am also interested in knowing this, as I contacted the DR Embassy in Canada, and they didn't have a clue. I have been married to a Dominican for almost 2 yrs and they said I should try to obtain residency through the marriage, and to apply here. Then the nice lady asked me to email all my findings to them because they hadn't a clue about the new law.
So if anyone has any information please share it.....thanks

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004
Residency in the dominican republic under the new immigration regulations

RESIDENCY IN THE DOMINICAN REPUBLIC
UNDER THE NEW IMMIGRATION REGULATIONS
Prepared by
Guzm?n Ariza
Attorneys at Law
Beginning June 1, 2012, residency status in the Dominican Republic is governed by
Immigration Law No. 285-04 and Immigration Regulation No. 631-11.