Newcomer to the forum

carmedic

May 17, 2013
Hello, My name is Steve and I am new to DR1. My purpose is to learn more about the people and the culture of the DR and see if the DR is a contender for part year residence with the retirement program for my wife and I. My concerns are probably much the same as other newbies to DR and are as follows.

Cost of Living
Making a difference in the communities
Safety
White sandy beaches and crystal blue waters
Islander pace

I look foward to discussing these things with other members of this forum.

Steve.

Criss Colon

Platinum
Jan 2, 2002
yahoomail.com
The "Cost Of Living" to one person can be VERY different from another person's.
For the "Lifestyle "above" it will be several thousand US dollars a month.
It depends on a variety of factors.
Will you buy, or rent, where do you want to live, "ON", or just "Near" the beach, What do you consider as a "safe" neighborhood, will you want a car, Medical ins., will you "go out" often??????
Think about what you will have to spend, then DOUBLE that amount!
My electric bill was $410 dollars last month!
Ask VERY specific questions, and you'll get specific answers.
"Welcome to DR1"...............
Cris Colon
CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC

Criss Colon

Platinum
Jan 2, 2002
yahoomail.com
LOTS of air conditioners, MANY fans, Hot Water, TV's, computers, ironing,two "fridges", washing machines,water pumps,lights,low consumption lights, but dozens of them.
9 people here!
Wanna hear about my food bill, school/univ. tuition, gasoline,medical insurance, clothes, entertainment, PIZZA"????????????
CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC

LTSteve

Gold
Jul 9, 2010
Steve:

Great name!! The Samana Peninsula and Las Terrenas is a great place to go and check out for retirement. Overalll cost of living is reasonable in the DR. Good luck.

LTSteve

carmedic

May 17, 2013
Which part of he island has the pleasure of your presence?