Offshore earthquake M 6.5 North of PR

PJT

Silver
Jan 8, 2002
Just a short while after midnight there was a quake episode felt in the Punta Cana zone.

The USGS website reported the quake about centering about 56 km N of Hatillo PR.

It was originally reported as two separate quakes. However, it was revised as one quake at M 6.5 .

How far was this felt in the DR ?

Regards,

PJT

HUG

Silver
Feb 3, 2009
Didn't feel a thing in santo domingo, but we stand on more rebar than solid ground and so are kind of living on suspension, quakes are observed but never felt.
Even the big Haiti one a few years ago was recorded here but no one felt anything, we're living and working on a natural trampoline!

I am a municipal engineer and know this city is built perfectly badly to absorb natural shock. For how long who knows!

Last edited:

skynet

Bronze
Aug 25, 2013
The DR Domino's coming soon! About 4 Years ago around Christmas time, we had a few tremors felt at my apartment building in SD. Tell ya man, felt like we were on a swing...These building are not designed as they should be, felt like a suspended bridge during a hurricane.. We all went outside to watch it fall...lol...kidding, but we did leave for a while

KateP

Silver
May 28, 2004
I was just falling asleep when I felt the bed start to shake. Lasted quite a while...

Punta Cana.

mountainannie

Platinum
Dec 11, 2003
elizabetheames.blogspot.com
Didn't feel a thing in santo domingo, but we stand on more rebar than solid ground and so are kind of living on suspension, quakes are observed but never felt.
Even the big Haiti one a few years ago was recorded here but no one felt anything, we're living and working on a natural trampoline!

I am a municipal engineer and know this city is built perfectly badly to absorb natural shock. For how long who knows!

you are wrong about the big Haiti quake not being felt here.. if you mean all of Santo Domingo