Moving to DR :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Qu33n

Banned
Jan 6, 2015
I am planning to moving to Santo Domingo, DR in 2016 from the US. I admit I am not as fluent in Spanish as I should be, but I do know enough to survive at the least. I understand more than I speak. I am overly excited about moving there, it's a beautiful country!

I graduated college for IT Support & Network Administration. I currently work for CCH, Wolters Kluwer and have been here for going on 4 years doing Website Design & Administration & SQL Administration. I also support a Time & Billing administration program for the company called Practice Management.

I have a 6 year old daughter (she will be 8 then) that will be joining me for the move.

The main thing that has me nervous about the move is being able to find a job in my field that is English-based(?) and the school systems. I'm curious to know what the school systems are like for grade-school students.

Any information or advice would be greatly appreciated!

AlterEgo

Administrator
Staff member
Jan 9, 2009
South Coast
Welcome to DR1.

Where are you moving from? Are you aware you need residency to work in DR, and that you have to begin that process where you live?

Qu33n

Banned
Jan 6, 2015
Kansas, United States. I figured I would need something to that effect. I'm still in the researching stage so I don't know the exact details yet but it's a WIP.

Aug 6, 2006
Public schools are not very good. Schools in some parts of the DR meet in shifts: 8:00-12:00, 2:00-6:00, even 7:00-10:00 for older students. That is the schedule in Barahona, not the most prosperous part oif the country. Private schools are your best bet for jobs. It would be best to find the job before you come, as it will get you a better salary, according to what others here have said. I think there are online job placement services for teaching abroad.