Making it work

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kristen40

Sep 27, 2015
I've received a lot of not so promising advice about my relationship with my Dominican BF. I am Anerican by the way. Don't get me wrong. After all I am on the forum to get advice and I appreciate the feedback. Whether it be positive or negative( and when I say negative I don't mean disrespectful at all. Everyone's Feedback has been helpful and nice)Yes there is a language barrier. I speak conversational spanish and he speaks some English. We have been together for a year and had a few misunderstandings but we always work it out. I simply ask him if I don't understand what he means before flipping out. Just because we are not from the same country does not mean we shouldn't be together and just forget our whole relationship. This to me is kind of a racist ideal. So I should just " stick with my own kind?"My BF and I share a passion for animals. This is how we met. I'm an animal trainer and he is a Vet tech student. I have known American guys who I can't understand a word they are saying. And we both were speaking English lol! And I don't mean that to be offensive to American guys either. All I am saying every relationship is different. What works for sone may not work for others. We are both very happy and seem to communicate just fine. Sometimes you just "get " someone no matter what language or culture you both may have different.

Ok it is not meant as some racist thing when people warn gringos about some Dominicans or that you should stick with your own kind.
Many women and men get taken advantage of here thinking they found the perfect Dominican mate then they don't realize they are just being played for money and/ or a visa.

Good if your relationship is working out, some do of course!

Luperon

Who empowered China's crime against humanity?
Jun 28, 2004