Voice-overs in English/Media Production

Birdie

Jul 31, 2002
Greetings!... I am wondering if anyone on DR1 knows of businesses and/or media production companies on the island who may have a need for experienced voices for voice-over work/narration in English.

I recently moved to the Dominican Republic, but before moving here, I was an actress in a professional theater company part-time, and I often did voice-over work for public and commercial radio, instructional videos, telephone systems, TV and film. I would very much like to find someone here who may need voice-overs from time to time.

I moved here for personal reasons, so I am recreating my working life from scratch. I would be most grateful to anyone who may have helpful suggestions!

Thanks so much,
Jane Allen Wilson

MaineGirl

The Way Life Should Be...
Jun 23, 2002
amity.beane.org
I did radio ads and one tv commercial.

The voice has to do with timing, inflection, and what kind of personality you can give your voice.

I am sure there is more to it than that, but I wasn't a "pro", I was just good at those things...

Jon S.

Bronze
Jan 25, 2003
MaineGirl said:
I did radio ads and one tv commercial.

The voice has to do with timing, inflection, and what kind of personality you can give your voice.

I am sure there is more to it than that, but I wasn't a "pro", I was just good at those things...

Ditto....I was asked to do it one time for a De La Hoya boxing match, from English to Spanish, but halfway through, my voice just got shot to shit and I couldn't do it anymore......

Good luck

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
John S, you are talking about something else: simultaneous translation/live narration which is much more of a challenge than recorded, scripted voiceovers. I am BBC voice tested, have several years of radio experience, and have done video voiceovers for some international development agencies in Santo Domingo when they need a British accent, but these assignments are rare and not particularly well-paid.