Starting a small business in DR

xcaliber

Jul 29, 2003
www.singlestravelgroup.com
I am a newbie to this forum and have a few questions about starting a small business in DR. After reading through various forums it seems as if buying property is the best investment in DR. I am thinking about either opening an internet cafe and/or a small clothing boutique. I have been to DR with a few suitcases of clothes and sold much of the items to the locals. Thanks to some advice from DR1.com. I am wondering if I should purchase a store front or lease a store front. I was thinking of opening in Sousa. Is this a good idea? I am also looking into opening an internet cafe nextdoor to the boutique.

ERICKXSON

Bronze
Dec 24, 2002
www.creambay.com
clothing? don't do clothing clothes in the D.R. are cheap. Internet Cafe's owners are making good money (IN SANTO DOMINGO) it all depend on the location.

XanaduRanch

*** Sin Bin ***
Sep 15, 2002
Internet Cafes

... can make some money but do your homework first. Many bandwidth providers here do not allow you to resell their product. Also Sosua seems to me to be quite heavily saturated with these.

XanaduRanch

*** Sin Bin ***
Sep 15, 2002
Internet Cafes

... can make some money but do your homework first. Many bandwidth providers here do not allow you to resell their product. Also Sosua seems to me to be quite heavily saturated with these.

lhtown

Jan 8, 2002
Clothing? I have difficulty seeing much profit in that right now-not that I am an expert by any stretch of the imagination. Internet cafe? Perhaps. One could probably survive in our neighborhood in the capital, particularly if it offered courses to educate the unitiated.

xcaliber

Jul 29, 2003
Where is a good location in Santa Domingo also do anyone know of a store-front that I can lease for a reasonable price? Will I need a license to perform business and do I need a licenses to teach computer courses?

GirlieGirl

Jun 19, 2003
Clothing is definately risky....