Concealed weapons

MICHIGANMICHAEL

Dec 22, 2003
I am a Police Officer here in Michigan, going to DR in Jan. I would like to bring my pistol with me. Any info concerning current laws & regulations would be helpful. I have traveled only to Mexico & Colombia with no problem, but I had all the proper paperwork in hand.

Thanks, Mike

Eddy

Silver
Jan 1, 2002
They have pretty rigid laws here concerning the importation of firearms. If you're planning on leaving it here, you could always sneak it in and then get a lawyer to legalize it. Expensive and takes a long time. As for just bringing it in for your vacation, forget it. The fact you are a cop will be of no help whatsoever. There is NO fraternity between the Dominican police and police from other countries. You can always get a legal opinion from our legal advisor Fabio Guzman in the "Legal" section.

dale7

Apr 18, 2002
www.stores.ebay.com
As Eddy said, just sit and hopefully Mr. Guzman and/or someone with knowledge will respond.. You won't need it in the DR though in my opinion. On another note, good to see another Michigander on the board. Welcome.
dale7(GO BLUE)

Dec 9, 2002
Why on earth

would you want to take your gun on holiday with you???? The only reason I could possibly come up with is because you feel unsafe in DR, if that is the case, then why even go there? If that isn't the case, and there is some other reason, please enlighten us. I would be interested to know.

simpson Homer

Bronze
Nov 14, 2003
Gun in Christmas

Well, your vacation will start at the airport to let you get in the country to the Dominican Rep. You might get the permit to carrie your gun every where but be ready for some kind of operation that the Dominican Army Forces during Holidays.

First they close some of the High way and main avenues to take out weapon from people during holydays. Almost none of the army guys speak English my personal advise don't ruin your vacation going to the Dominican Rep. with a gun. its a peacefull place.