Xenophobia in Monte Cristi

Ricardo900

Silver
Jul 12, 2004
I just read this in the news section of DR1
http://www.dr1.com/#9
What the Hell is going on in Monte Cristi, a few haitians allegedly committed a crime and the town want to oust all of the haitians. There must be some deep rooted Dominican/Haitian feelings.

Any DR1 members live in Monte Cristi??

stewart

Mar 1, 2004
Ricardo900 said:
I just read this in the news section of DR1
http://www.dr1.com/#9
What the Hell is going on in Monte Cristi, a few haitians allegedly committed a crime and the town want to oust all of the haitians. There must be some deep rooted Dominican/Haitian feelings.

Any DR1 members live in Monte Cristi??

I lived in Monte Cristi for a month. It was a while back though.
Everybody there seemed really friendly. I have to assume that this is a knee jerk reaction by some scared and angry people.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I have to agree with Stewart on this one.

At this very moment, Spain is going through its own anti-foreigners xenophobic moment.

All because one Spaniard was killed by an immigrant, presumably a Dominican. Already, a Colombian and Dominican immigrants have been killed in Madrid. This is according to local Dominican sources.

I wonder how many Spaniards die at the hands of another Spaniard every year? It has to be more than one!!

Same applies to Monte Cristi, though it's interesting to see that upwards of 2,000 Haitians have left the Monte Crisit area. Monte Cristi is not even a well off by Dominican standards!

These are only the one's deported, just to think how many are located in the wealthier parts of the country and some people still claim that we are not being invaded!

My my my....

Marianopolita

Former Spanish forum Mod 2010-2021
Dec 26, 2003

arturo

Bronze
Mar 14, 2002
someone needs to edit the news briefs on DR1 more carefully...

as seen on DR1

Xenophobia in Monte Cristi