Puerto Plata in late Sep - early Oct

Status
Not open for further replies.

svenny83

Jul 13, 2005
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the bored. My girlfriend and I have just paid for a 2 week all-inclusive holiday to Puerto Plata. We are *so* excited about it! Booked into the Occidental Grand Flamenco...

I've got a couple of queries about this area - probably stuff you've heard many times before, but I need to clear them up so I can get them off my mind!

Firstly, the weather. Obviously I know that late Sep-early Oct is towards the end of the hurricane season. Generally speaking, what is the weather like at this time? When shopping around for the holiday, many travel agents tried to dissuade us from going on account of the weather.

Secondly, the travel agent we have booked with has recommended, almost insisted, that we do not leave the hotel compound, unless on an organised tour, when we are there. I just need to hear it from someone else that this is a completely unorthadox ploy to get us to spend more money with them! I love exploring an area, and wouldn't be silly enough to walk alone at night etc anyway. Additionally, I've been on a hostile environment course for work anyway, so could probably deal with most problems. Surely that part of the country isn't actually dangerous?

Next, vaccinations. Various vaccinations have been recommended before we travel (from the UK), but I've noticed that they are not mandatory. Would you recommend they are done anyway?

Finally, currency. At this moment of time, we can get US dollars for a fantastic rate against the British pound. Would I be best advised to take US dollars to the Domincan Republic as opposed to the local currency, to get more for our money?

Sorry if these questions sound pathetic or basic, but once I have the answers to these, all that is left to do is count down the days!

Many thanks,

Stephen H (London, UK).

planner

.............. ?
Sep 23, 2002