apartment in Puerto Plata for a month

Status
Not open for further replies.

eas

May 1, 2006
Hi everyone,

I am new here and this is my first post! My name is Erica and I am a college student from Boston who'll be graduating in a month. My roommates and I are looking to rent an apartment in Puerto Plata for July to relax before we start our jobs. I read through old posts and it seems like one way to get an apt. is just to go down there and find one, but one of my roommates is uncomfortable with that idea. Is this the best way or are there good contacts here/sites online to look? Thanks for any suggestions.

Rocky

Honorificabilitudinitatibus
Apr 4, 2002
www.rockysbar.com
It depends.
Do you know your way around?
Do you speak Spanish?
Do you have connections?
Do you really want to be in Puerto Plata, or the area?
Puerto Plata is a big, noisy polluted Dominican city with some tourism both to the East & the West.
I can't see wanting to stay there myself, unless you have all fallen in love with some local dudes.
Sosua or Cabarete may be much better choices.

eas

May 1, 2006
Hi Rocky,

Thanks for your reply. I am fluent in Spanish and my friends are pretty good, good enough to get around. I have stayed at a resort outside of Puerto Plata and wanted to go again but not stay in an AI. We are open to staying outside of the city/in Sosua or Cabarete and are definately not motivated by "falling in love with some local dudes"! Any suggestions are appreciated.

Erica

Rocky

Apr 4, 2002
www.rockysbar.com
Hi Erica,
Both Sosua & Cabarete are great.
Sosua is bigger and less expensive with better diving & swimming, while Cabarete is more geared to a younger sporty crowd, with windsurfing as it's main attraction.
Food & accomodations will cost approx. 50% more in Cabarete.

eas

May 1, 2006
Hi Rocky,