How does real/subjective truth affects the way people interprit Dominican history?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
First and foremost, I will go through a lengthy explanation in an attempt to be as clear as possible as to what I am asking at the end of the post. Please read through it all. Thanks in advance.

Let's be clear about something regarding "truth". There are two types, there is what I call the real truth and then there is subjective truth.

The real truth is the reality of something(s). It exist, its real regardless whether people recognize it or not.

The subjective truth is reality only to those who believe it is. This type of truth is shaped by pre-concieved notions, ingrained patterns of analyzing something, and/or through constant repetition which eventually causes the information to seek into the subconscious mind.

An example of a real truth would be ice melts when temperatures are above 0 degrees celsius. This is a fact that is very real, regardless if anyone is aware of such fact or not, regardless if someone believes in such fact or not, etc. Its a real truth.

An example of a subjective truth would be the notion of whether God exist. If you go to a group of Athiest and tell them that God exist, they will tell you that its not true, God does not exist. For them, the notion that there is no devine being is the truth.

On the contrary, minutes later you go into a group of believers and tell themt hat God does not exist. They will tell you that God does exist and that is the truth. For them, the notion that there is a devine bieng is very real, its truth.

Each of them believe in what they believe based on preconceived notions, their patterns of analyzing things, and constant repetition of what they believe.