Property Managers in the RD

Nelly

Bronze
Jan 1, 2002
I'm a property manager here in Canada with 14 years experience in both commercial (office, retail, warehouse, etc.) and multi-residential (apartments) properties. I speak basic spanish which would improve significantly if I was immersed in it. I was wondering if there is a job market for property managers on the North Coast? What could one expect in terms of pay? What are property managers called in spanish? Thanks in advance.

Gabriela

Bronze
Dec 4, 2003
Canadian experience a handicap

Dear Nelly,
While there is great need for honest, reliable property managers in the DR, your Canadian experience is useless in the Dominican context. Because there is no objective legal or enforcement system, there are no property rights without a fat bankroll to back them up. Unless your Canadian experience includes small arms training, bribery, theft and double book accounting, you'll be at a disadvantage. You also need to be your own lawyer.
Good luck.

Colin

Jun 1, 2006
Just curious, are you talking from experience? or just being negative to the DR.

Rocky

Honorificabilitudinitatibus
Apr 4, 2002
www.rockysbar.com
Just curious, are you talking from experience? or just being negative to the DR.
Although I can't speak for Gabriela, her reply is quite accurate.
This is another world, and CDN experience is not going to help much.
That being said, a CDN who moves here, learns the lay of the land and learns to understand how things work here, would have a decided advantage managing a property, over someone who had no experience whatsoever.

Nelly

Bronze
Jan 1, 2002
That being said, a CDN who moves here, learns the lay of the land and learns to understand how things work here, would have a decided advantage managing a property, over someone who had no experience whatsoever.

My thoughts exactly but finding the right person to learn from is the challange.

Rocky

Apr 4, 2002
www.rockysbar.com