Golf in The DR

suarezn

Gold
Feb 3, 2002
I'm not a golf expert by any stretch, but two things about Golf in The DR I wanted to comment on.

First thing is I was recently in San Luis Potosi, Mexico and watching TV at The hotel they were constantly airing ads about golfing in The DR. The ads were very nicely done and it looks like they spent a ton of money to make and air them so often. It seemed rather strange to me though that they were being aired in Central Mexico of all places. What segment are they targeting? It seems like this money would be better spent in The US where there's a much larger golfing community. Here in Michigan I've never seen and ad for golf in The DR...

Second thing is I know there are a number of new golf courses being built in The DR. I recently read an article (can't remember where) where they talked about how many golf courses are being closed down and converted to other purposes (shopping plazas, apartments, etc) because there is a glut of golf courses around the world right now compared to the number of people playing the game on a regular basis. I think The DR is coming late to the party and probably build courses that may not have the people to play them. Of course the one thing different down there is that most of these courses are being targeted to visitors / tourists so that may help.

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
The money is in real estate, not in tee-times. You cannot build a course here unless you combine it with real estate.