pineapple questions

noresco7

Jan 22, 2009
Hi, I'm interested in investing about 300,000 pesos in a pineapple project in DR. I've never done it before and am trying to do all the preliminary research. They're saying that the individual pineapple plants cost around 2 pesos each, and that each plant takes 1yr to harvest a pineapple. As far as the wholesale prices I'm told that I can expect around 10 pesos per pineapple if the variety is pan de azucar or another that begins with M. Im more interested in the M variety because it seems to be less work. I was wondering if anyone could give some more advice or has had experience with this type of project. How many pineapple plants can I put on an acre? Is renting the land a good and safe idea? Is it worth the investment? Has anyone had success with pineapples? I was considering plantains, but dont want to run the risk of a hurricane and figure that pineapples would be less risky in that sense.

dv8

Gold
Sep 27, 2006
the guy is asking if HE, not his workers, can profit from that business...
and btw, an investment of 300.000 PESOS is not likely to bring you considerable return, sorry to say. you could get few hot dog carts for that, thou.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
I do not think I would do it unless you are here to watch every penny and you know something about agriculture in the DR

Pineapples need a certain kind of soil. You can test for it with a lemon...squeeze the lemon, it the soil bubbles, it's no good for pineapples.....so I was told...

You have to figure that the passive interet rates are around 15% now....so your 300K would produce close to 60K before you picked a pineapple...

I think I'd stick it in the bank in a CD and count my cash down the line..Farming will give you ulcers..

HB

dv8

Gold
Sep 27, 2006
back in europe i used to think such delicacy grows on trees. what disappointment to find out that pineapple grows on the ground like common cabbage!

amparocorp

Bronze
Aug 11, 2002