Oh oh... FAA Investigating Dominican Airlines (Maintenance)

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
The FAA (Federal Aviation Administration) has launched an exhaustive investigation regarding maintenance of aircrafts belonging to Dominican airlines. The investigation is supposedly currently ongoing and the report should be ready within a month. Although some say these inspections are routine, reality is the Dominican airlines are being scrutinized much more closely. If maintenance issues are widespread in Dominican airlines, expect the DR code (HI) to be degraded and Dominican airplanes will not be allowed in the USA. That would hamper Arajet's plan to fly to the USA. The last time the USA degraded Dominican airlines, it took around a decade for the category to be increased again and Dominican airlines were allowed in the USA.

:oops:

Last edited:

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004
Please be sure to post the results of the tests and if a ban to the USA ensues.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Yesterday, Héctor Porcella (Director of IDAC) is interviewed by CDN regarding the FAA inspection.

Reactions: JD Jones

melphis

Living my Dream
Apr 18, 2013
A Dominican based airline that doesn't cut corners? Why would anybody be even remotely surprised?
I could post thousands of analogies but I honestly don't even know where to start.
All I'm gonna say is that if you booked on a Dominican based airline you have to know that after a month they are not getting anywhere near any country that has even the most basic safety measures in place. Unless of course you have a death wish, are trying to save a few dollars or want to visit third world places like Haiti.
Good luck with that.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003