American Marries Dominican: True Love or Visa Wings?

He is truly in love with her or he is another one looking for visa wings?

• I think this is genuine.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Definitely looking for visa wings.

Votes: 1 12.5%
  • If not looking for visa wings, he is using her for the money from her social media channels.

• Looking for visa wings and using her for the money created in her social media.

• Hm, hard to say...

Votes: 5 62.5%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Here is an interesting story (in Spanish) of a young American woman that apprently loves all things Dominican. In fact, she lives in Santo Domingo, moved to the country by herself and met this Dominican guy. They comment things such as many people tell them he is married to her (they married very recently) because he wants a visa, that he truly doesn't love her, etc. She says that there was a time she was living in a luxury apartment in SD, had no job and he worked hard to help her pay the rent despite he was making considerably less money (he says it was so hard to meet the rent amount that he cut his costs including limiting to eating once a day.) That made her see him not as someone looking for a visa, but someone that was genuinely interested in her. She also comments of other treatments from him that make her feel this is different from someone looking for visa wings.

Social media has taken off and they are apparently making money from her TikTok, Youtube, etc channels.

He comes through as a genuine guy, but what do expats think? She didn't met him in a resort, so I guess the sanky part is discarded. lol

I think that since she likes the DR so much, they will not be moving out of the DR at any recent moment.

Last edited:

keepcoming

Moderator - Living & General Stuff
May 25, 2011