Bowling Alleys

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Caribbean Cinemas is from Puerto Rico, Palacio del Cine Dominican.

The former movie theaters of Palacio del Cine could be bought (some or all) by Caribbean Cinema (not desirable since CC’s monopoly would continue) or some foreign movie theater chain such as the Mexican Cinépolis or Cine Colombia (most Latin adquisitions of Dominican companies have been from those two countries or Brazil, much investment from El Salvador too, but I’m not sure if they have a local movie theater chain or not (El Salvador is a tiny country, but it has one of the most important business class with presence in many Latin American countries, big suprises come in small packages, lol.)

A new Dominican movie chain could technically be created too named whatever, Cine Cibao, etc.

JD Jones

Moderator:North Coast,Santo Domingo,SW Coast,Covid
Jan 7, 2016
I was told once by an employee in the know that these theaters don't make any money on tickets, most of their income comes from the advertisements/announcements.
I believe it; every time I go it's for the Sat or Sun Matinee, and I am either alone in the theater or one of 4-5 persons.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
The value of the advertisements is based on the amount of people that look at it. Otherwise, a particular price point for an advertisement place isn’t sustainable. That’s basically how it’s with advertisement in most things (billboards, TV commercials, internet ad banners, etc.)

I guess matinee is in the day before the main movie theater going time. In the DR it could also be like with the opening of a new food franchise, lots of visit when it opens and then quickly die down.

MariaRubia

Jun 25, 2019