HELIDOSA

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Be aware the company is going through a restructuring. The sold most of their helicopters including some which were "aeroambulancias." This should be worrisome considering Helidosa was the only company offering that service. That's when something happens and you are too far by land to one of the top hospitals of the country, so Helidosa was the company to contact for their air transport from the scene of the medical emergency or accident to one of the top hospitals in SD or STI. In some cases, the amount of time it shortens could be the difference between life or death.

Right now Helidosa has two helicopters, that's it.

The Dominican government should consider having its own company that offers this service, at least to guarantee the DR would always a decent amount of this. Most of the tourists stay in places that are very far by land of the top hospitals.

melphis

Living my Dream
Apr 18, 2013
So I guess it will be peaceful by the pool. They did tourist flybys 15 to 20 times a day in normal times.
I always thought of that old canadian song "if I had a rocket launcher".
Just another poorly run company that has to close down due to mismanagement

Reactions: PCMike and Peterj

Peterj

Bronze
Oct 7, 2002
Dominican Republic
So I guess it will be peaceful by the pool. They did tourist flybys 15 to 20 times a day in normal times.
With "normal times" I guess you mean before 2020?

JD Jones

Moderator:North Coast,Santo Domingo,SW Coast,Covid
Jan 7, 2016
I wonder if Helidosa will continue to receive all of the money the receive from insurance companies for air ambulance services?

For many of them, they add it on as a benefit along with casa de conductor and roadside assistance.

johne

Silver
Jun 28, 2003
Any members interested in discussing a group venture into this business??

Manuel01

Apr 1, 2009