Interesting Interview: Jacinto Peynado (Porsche DR)

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Here is a very interesting interview of Jacinto Peynado regarding how he became the official importer of Porsche in the DR, how he had no money when he started the business, the Porsche DR business became profitable in about 2 years, sales of Porsche tripled once Ferrari and Maserati were removed from the same showroom, the DR is the fourth most important market for Porsche in Latin America, etc.

This was published today Feb 18, 2024.

Reactions: aarhus

MariaRubia

Jun 25, 2019
I have dated quite a few Dominican guys who live in very ordinary apartments but roll around in very expensive cars. The last one paid twice as much monthly for his car as his rent. All of his money went on sharp suits, being seen at the most expensive bars and restaurants, all so that people would think he was actually a high-roller. Which of course he wasn't, he was constantly asking me if I could give him a little loan, or would I like to go for a romantic weekend to Medellin (and pay for it) or he'd booked a romantic table at SBG but would I mind putting it on my Amex. Very good looking, but that stuff gets tiring very quickly. It's just the same in the block that I live in, all the most expensive cars belong to the cheapest apartments. And the penthouse crowd just stick to Ubers as they have nothing to prove.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Maybe this is a revelation, but there are people that buy nice cars and sports cars because they actually like the car. Not everyone rolling around in a Porsche cares what other people think. That’s the car they like in that color and with those features and so be it. That someone else doesn’t like that or if they think he is simply doing it for looks, that’s their problem. lol

Reactions: Fulano2 and aarhus

aarhus

Long live King Frederik X
Jun 10, 2008