K1 process vs. married in DR thus allowing my SO to come over?

AnnaC

Gold
Jan 2, 2002
Good day I have a question suppose you were born in the UK do you have to send the birth certificate to get translated there

Good morning. Not sure I understand your question. You were born in the UK and want to immigrate to the US?

In this thread the discussion is about an American bringing a Dominican to the USA

Imbert369

Sep 21, 2008
Sorry for the confusion I am a permanent resident living in the US, I was born the UK if I wanted to get married in DR would I have to send my British Birth certificate to UK for translation

AnnaC

Gold
Jan 2, 2002
Sorry for the confusion I am a permanent resident living in the US, I was born the UK if I wanted to get married in DR would I have to send my British Birth certificate to UK for translation

So you are asking what documents you need to get married in the DR not what you need to sponsor someone to the USA?

If so, yes you need your English birth certificate translated into Spanish

http://santodomingo.usembassy.gov/marriage_dr-e.html

Last edited:

Imbert369

Sep 21, 2008
My question is only about the British birth certificate, because I am residing in the US I saw that you have to get the Birth certificate translated in the original country that it was issued. i am asking if this is true or can i get it translated in the US were I reside. All other documents I am aware of what to do, this for only marriage in DR. Thanks

rafael

Bronze
Jan 2, 2002
www.dr-tourist.tv