Golf Courses for the Dominican Masses?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Ever since the first golf course was created in the DR (Santo Domingo Country Club) in the 1920's, the sport has been seen as something exclusive of rich Dominicans. With the appearance of mass tourisim, golf course have also appeared in several resorts used by tourists and well off Dominicans.

In the USA most golf courses are private, but there sre many built, owned, and managed by different governments, usually municipal ones. While even there golf isn't particularly a sport popular with the poor, they are less stuffy that those in private country clubs and, as a consequence, there is a greater range of golfers. Why can the DR attempt to break the "golf is for the rich" myth?

Private golf courses can continue to limit who can play them and/or access their clubs via things like high prices (high enough to keep the low class and even much of the middle class out of reach.) The DR government should consider:

1) Creating a new institution within the Ministry of Sports and Recreation solely for the constructing, maintsining and promoting golf in public golf courses.

2) Creating at least 7 public golf courses throughout the DR. 2 in Greater SD -it would have to be somewhere in Villa Mella and another in SDE, the DN is almost all built up-, 1 in Santiago, 1 in Baní -with an emphasis on being in a semi-dry climate to include things such as cactuses in the scenery-, 1 in San Pedro de Macorís, 1 in Puerto Plata and 1 in either Jarabacoa or Constanza with an alpine theme to contrast with the more tropical ones in the vslleys snd along the coast. Maybe more created at a later time.

3) Create a government owned institution similar to FEDOGOLF, but that consist of all the public golf courses and membership fees should be very economicals.