Golf Courses for the Dominican Masses?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
NAL'S....the best thing anyone can do is support a good education. That is what is needed. You are talking about one person; I am talking about 100"s of students. For every one person that "makes it" hundreds do not.
Whst I'm talking about is that creating public golf courses will not be more than what is currently invested in public education and willnot be an impeding to future investment or more in that sector.

Besides, here is a case of, in this case, people fron developed countries basically saying that the way to development is how they think, when in fact at the time public golf courses were created in several now developed countries many of the people didn't have things like potable water. In fact, even today in places like the USA there are households that don't receive potable water, they depend on well water. I guess public golf courses should had never been created in the USA since 100% of the popultion isn't on the potable water grid. It turns out that the creation of public golf courses had and continue to have nothing to do with access to potable water, electricity, health care, etc or further access to them in the future.

This is basically a case on it is said even by people from developed countries that the way to development is through the route that they claim, but the actual route their countries took is a completely different one.

Rumble2005

Mar 18, 2006
I have only golfed once in the DR. Playa Grande. It was a fantastic course and I played well before it became ultra exclusive. The day I played it was empty and the course surely lost money that day.

What WW says about golf being in decline is true but courses are doing innovative things to grow the sport. Everything from 12 hole courses to slightly larger cup sizes to speed up the game. The most common complaint with golf is the time commitment required to play 18 holes.