laptop questions

M

Marvin

My wife wants to bring her laptop with us to Puerto Plata in March. Is there anything special we should do to prepare it for there. Getting through customs, electrical requirements, extra surge protection, security? I know, it's supposed to be a vacation, believe me, you won't catch me within 10 feet of it. I'll probably have plenty of time to cruise. :) LOL

K

Keith

Marvin,

Even though I too have a tendency to take my laptop wherever I go, I can't see hauling it along on vacation to PP!!! Maybe your wife needs a vacation away from the keyboard...

Well, if she insists on bringing it along, your wife probably will not have problems getting through Customs with the laptop, esp. if carried in a shoulder case. I lived and worked four years in the DR, came and went numerous times with my laptop. Only asked about it once, and I said it was a computer I use in my work, that I'm a writer (easier than explaining writer/consultant/researcher). The officer nodded and that was that. If you wish to be on the cautious side, take a copy of her sales slip for the computer with you, or go to the Customs office at the airport you're departing from in the US (presume Canada can do this too) and ask for the declaration form that shows they stamp that attests that the item in question is a personal use item which was in your possession when you left the US. Probably won't need it, though.

As for other things to know, I would STRONGLY suggest full surge protection for both the electrical connection and modem connection. Most telephone lines in DR get surges; I fried two modems and a fax while living in the DR, and once that was when I supposedly had line surge protection.