US check

theshaolinclaw

Mar 20, 2010
Does anyone know where or how can i change a 3000$ US check my college refund me from the US. I have my passport only. I been living here for 8 months none, but for me to go cash it in the US I have to buy a two way ticket back to the states if I want to come back, so in total thats 3 tickets. What a waste of money. Thank you for your time.

AlterEgo

Administrator
Staff member
Jan 9, 2009
South Coast
Open a bank account and deposit it in there - as soon as it clears you can withdraw the money. We've done that in the past.

AE

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
Careful - it can take up to 3 months to clear (45 working days - Banco de Reservas; about 30 working days - Banco Le?n). I have no experience with changing such a large check at a cambio but if you can it's the best option.

AlterEgo

Administrator
Staff member
Jan 9, 2009
South Coast
Careful - it can take up to 3 months to clear (45 working days - Banco de Reservas; about 30 working days - Banco Le?n). I have no experience with changing such a large check at a cambio but if you can it's the best option.

We did ours through BHD - an existing account that we have. We needed that exact amount - $3000 - to finish a block wall. It took a couple of weeks to clear. Of course, that's never written in stone, you never know how long it might take. But unless the OP needs the money immediately, it's a better option than flying to the US and paying for all that airfare.

AE

RacerX

Banned
Nov 22, 2009
OK ok ok...lets find out something first Jackson. Do you have an account with a bank in the United States? If you do! Then here is what you do.

A. It is not worthy to buy a round trip to go there and deposit it.
B. YOU find a FedEx office in Santo Domingo or Santiago(I hope you live here or there).
C. Put the check in the envelope. Address the envelope to your bank.