Proof of employment in order to sponsor to Canada

cosmok

Jan 29, 2014
So I am starting the long process of sponsoring my wife to come Canada. One of the supporting documents I have to provide is "proof of income." I have been a self-employed consultant for the last 15-years. Has anyone had experience with this? What document should I provide that shows I am self-employed?

It is a bit overwhelming at this point but I am going to take it one step at a time.

So I am starting the long process of sponsoring my wife to come Canada. One of the supporting documents I have to provide is "proof of income." I have been a self-employed consultant for the last 15-years. Has anyone had experience with this? What document should I provide that shows I am self-employed?

It is a bit overwhelming at this point but I am going to take it one step at a time.

Man I don't envy you, good luck with the process! Canada can be MEAN!

cosmok

Jan 29, 2014
I do have tax returns but they want proof of income and employment "for the 12 months preceding the date of your sponsorship." My last tax return is from 2013 and doesn't show my income for this year. They want a "statement of business activities." Whatever that is?

I am finding out that it isn't easy to immigrate to Canada as everyone thinks. How did we end up with so many immigrants? I have a friend from Guatemala who brought over 6 brothers and 2 sets of parents (his parents were remarried.) I should ask him how he managed that.

kaykat18987

Nov 25, 2013
this is as of august 1st 2014

Prerequisites for sponsorship

You must satisfy all of the following requirements, in addition to any specific requirements that apply.
• You must have fulfilled all previous commitments. If the Minist?re de l’Emploi et de la Solidarit? sociale (MESS) determines that you have defaulted, you must have repaid all of the amounts paid as financial assistance of last resort (social assistance) or special allowances to the person you sponsored.