Reflexive verbs

mountainannie

Platinum
Dec 11, 2003
elizabetheames.blogspot.com
I am always confused by the signs that say "se vende" or "se Alquiler" thinking that they are using a reflexive form of a verb and the properties are selling themselves or renting themselves. This does not make any sense to me.

I am used to some reflexsive verbs in French but there seem to be a lot more in Spanish, or at least a lot more are used here. I saw a sign for some criminals at a police station once with the words "se busco" underneath them and joked with the police that no wonder they were sitting around the station as they had nothing to do since the crooks were looking for themselves.

When I look at the list of the verbs in Spanish here Reflexive Verbs and Pronouns the list makes sense, as in one is doing the actions to one's self, but when I hear/ see it, it often does not.

Last edited by a moderator:

TropicalPaul

Bronze
Sep 3, 2013
I'm not a Spanish expert, but I always thought of these similar to "on vend" in French, ie "one is selling".

Africaida

Gold
Jun 19, 2009
True that it is a looot more in Spanish then French. But my understanding is that in Spanish is used as an indefinite pronoun, just like when we use "on" in French.
Se vende is not a true reflexive in that sense, just means alguien vende.

Hope it makes sense.

mountainannie

Platinum
Dec 11, 2003
True that it is a looot more in Spanish then French. But my understanding is that in Spanish is used as an indefinite pronoun, just like when we use "on" in French.
Se vende is not a true reflexive in that sense, just means alguien vende.

Hope it makes sense.

OH!! wow! That makes total sense. If it is just "se" meaning "one" then I get it.

It is really embarassing to think of how much this has bugged me.