is dr cafta working?

Status
Not open for further replies.

chic

Silver
Nov 20, 2013
to my understanding u.s. products are supposed to come in tax free... anyone seen twinkies? levi's? bud? is this working at all?

the gorgon

Platinum
Sep 16, 2010
You presumably don't have a very good understanding of it all. We have had an ongoing thread for a couple of months about anything over $200.00 being imported pays a tax of 18% etc..

your response is very restrained, to say the least.

chic

Silver
Nov 20, 2013
sorry...but im thinking that a container load of twinkies not your personal purchase...
the international agreement is not for your purchases...it is for international trading....products made in u.s. can come to d.r. tax free to stimulate interntl, trade.??

RonS

Bronze
Oct 18, 2004
Working for whom and to do what? I'm no expert, but my observation is that the DR infrastructure has limited the effectiveness of exports (transportation cartels, energy costs, e.g.), and the tax structure is not kind to imports [or anything else]. And then, of course, there is that pesky little problem of corruption. The US side is not without inhibitions. Sugar, rice, and other agricultural subsidies, are notable. Apparel may fare better.

shorts

Dec 3, 2012
I'm curious about this also.

There is an import/export free trade agreement in place between the US and DR.

RonS

Bronze
Oct 18, 2004
As with any other legal document, the DR-CAFTA is more complicated and nuanced. 'Free' trade is not completely 'free'. The Agreement is a volume of specific provisions that were politically worked out over a period of time. It is not as simple as you think. You can google the Agreement and have a look. Beware, it's a pretty long document.

spartanx15

Jan 26, 2007