Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    23
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default T-Mobile Service

    Hey, I'll be visiting RD in June.. how's cell phone service on the island? I have T-Mobile.

  2. #2
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,732
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Get it unlocked and get a SIM from an R.D. provider

  3. Likes KATIEJAY liked this post
  4. #3
    Silver
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    2,278
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Tmobile is a CDMA network carrier in the US. DR is a GSM country.
    Those phones wont work together

  5. #4
    Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    327
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by beanny007 View Post
    Hey, I'll be visiting RD in June.. how's cell phone service on the island? I have T-Mobile.
    With T Mobile's Simple Choice Plan you’ve unlimited data and texting. All at no extra charge. Calls stateside they’re just 20 cents a minute. Again thats ONLY with T-Mobile's Simple Choice Plan. Data will be very slow. Don't expect to be streaming Netflix while lounging on the beaches of Boca Chica. The free roaming option will only provide data at 2G speeds.

    When you land T-Mobile will send you a "Welcome to DR" text, with an additional text for an option to purchase a high speed data plan.

    Additionally, make sure your phone is compatible with DR's network (Orange). Tmobile piggybacks off Orange Dominicana I believe. Your "coverage" will be as good/bad as Orange is.

    Don't forget that with a T-mobile branded phone or a newer iPhone you can make free WiFi calls to the US. Also you may want to call Tmobile before leaving to make sure no "international calling blocks" are on/activated on your line(s) or none of the above will work.

    Below is a link to Tmobile's coverage in DR:

    International Plans | Traveling Abroad without Roaming Fees | T-Mobile

  6. #5
    Bronze
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    581
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Commander Ooh La La, USN View Post
    Tmobile is a CDMA network carrier in the US. DR is a GSM country.
    Those phones wont work together

    ????? I have an unlocked T mobile phone, that works fine here. Also with T mobile you have free wifi calling and free roaming, so you can make and receive calls back to the states, no charge

  7. #6
    Gold
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    7,102
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    For free data roaming Tmobile USA uses Viva.

  8. Likes tmnyc liked this post
  9. #7
    Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    327
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Commander Ooh La La, USN View Post
    Tmobile is a CDMA network carrier in the US. DR is a GSM country.
    Those phones wont work together
    Tmobile is NOT a CDMA carrier, thats Verizon Wireless (3G/2G - CDMA2000 800/1900 MHz). Tmobile owns licenses to operate a 1900 MHz GSM PCS digital cellular network and a 1700 MHz UMTS AWS digital cellular network that includes GSM, HSPA+, and LTE.
    Last edited by tmnyc; 04-30-2015 at 03:22 PM.

  10. Likes RG84 liked this post
  11. #8
    Gold
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    7,325
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Commander Ooh La La, USN View Post
    Tmobile is a CDMA network carrier in the US. DR is a GSM country.
    Those phones wont work together
    NOT True, TMobile is GSM. I have TMobile in the USA and just swap out my sim card to Claro when in la rep dom.

  12. Likes RG84 liked this post
  13. #9
    Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    182
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I have t-mobile with my iphone. Calls on Orange here are fine, but the free data is worthless (2g).

    Singletravel

  14. #10
    Gold
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    9,448
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Commander Ooh La La, USN View Post
    Tmobile is a CDMA network carrier in the US. DR is a GSM country.
    Those phones wont work together
    Not true. I use Nexus 5 on both T Mobile in Miami and Claro in the DR. I just change the Sim.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •